If you are looking for a Vergil Yamato katana, the character name is only the starting point. Two swords can share the same inspiration while using different materials or finishes. The useful buying question is not simply “Which one looks like Yamato?” but “Which exact edition am I ordering, and what does its listing confirm?”
Capcom identifies Yamato as Vergil’s katana. This guide compares two modern JMSWORD collector pieces inspired by that design. The measurements below describe our listed products, not the fictional sword’s dimensions.
The short answer: choose by the documented finish and specification
The 1060 carbon steel edition names a specific steel grade. The manganese steel edition lists a hamon finish, but its description does not identify a precise manganese-steel grade. Both listings give the same overall length, blade length and weight. If you are choosing between them for a collection, start with the close-up photographs and the finish you prefer, then resolve any unanswered material questions before ordering.
Vergil katana comparison
| Detail | 1060 edition | Manganese steel / hamon edition |
|---|---|---|
| Listed blade material | 1060 carbon steel | High manganese steel; exact grade not stated |
| Overall length | 40.9 inches | 40.9 inches |
| Blade length | 28.7 inches | 28.7 inches |
| Listed weight | 1.5 kg | 1.5 kg |
| Fittings | Copper | Copper |
| Scabbard | Painted solid wood | Painted solid wood |
| Listed edge | Sharpened | Sharpened |
| Hamon finish | Not specified in the description | Specified in the description |
| Display stand | Not included | Not included |
Open the Vergil 1060 carbon steel katana and the Vergil manganese steel katana with hamon finish for current photographs, pricing and availability. Product pages take precedence if specifications or options change.
What the material labels do—and do not—tell you
A named steel grade is useful for identifying a material, but it is not a complete quality certificate. Neither of these listings supplies a finished hardness result or a comparative performance test. There is no evidence here to rank one as stronger, sharper or more durable simply from its name.
Likewise, treat “hamon finish” as the stated feature, not as proof of a particular manufacturing process. If the production method matters to your collection, ask for confirmation for the exact edition. A photograph or a finish label should not substitute for documentation.
Compare the details you will actually see on display
Look at the complete sword and scabbard together. Check the handle wrapping, guard shape, fittings, scabbard finish and cord arrangement, rather than deciding from a cropped blade photograph. A close-up can help you compare a feature, while a full-length view shows how those details work together.
If your collection follows a particular game appearance, send the product link and your reference to JMSWORD before buying. Do not assume that every Vergil-inspired listing reproduces the same version or is an exact match in every detail.
Plan space and storage before ordering
At a listed 40.9 inches overall, these are full-size collector pieces. Measure the intended cabinet or secured display area; a compact product thumbnail can make a long object seem smaller than it is. The listed 1.5 kg weight also matters when selecting a suitable display system. Confirm whether any quoted measurement or weight includes the scabbard if that distinction affects your setup.
Both current descriptions specify a sharpened edge. They should not be treated as toys, convention props or equipment for contact practice. Keep them secured from children and unauthorized handling, and check current rules at the delivery destination. Our sharpened versus unsharpened guide explains why an edge label alone does not establish suitability for an activity.
Questions worth asking before checkout
- Is the finish shown in the photographs the finish supplied on this exact edition?
- Are additional close-up photographs available for the guard, wrapping and scabbard?
- Is the selected item ready to ship, or does it need additional preparation?
- Does the stated weight include the scabbard?
- Can this product be delivered to my destination, and what total delivery estimate applies?
Use the JMSWORD contact page with the exact product link so the reply refers to the correct edition.
Frequently asked questions
Are both editions made from T10 steel?
No. The two products compared here are listed as 1060 carbon steel and high manganese steel. A separate listing, photograph or title should not be used to infer the material of either one.
Does the sword come with a stand?
The current descriptions include a sword and scabbard and explicitly exclude a display stand. Confirm any separately purchased display accessory’s fit and retention requirements.
Which edition makes the better gift?
Choose only after confirming the adult recipient wants this specific design and can receive and store it responsibly. The finish preference matters more than guessing from the character name. See our sword gift buying checklist before ordering.
To compare other designs, browse the anime and game-inspired sword collection.


